Next I try to email postmaster@203.15.166.46 with a copy of
the spam. But I get back:
Date: Wed, 28 Aug 1996 21:58:13 -0600
From: Mail Delivery Subsystem <MAILER-DAEMON@techbroker.com>
To: Subject: Returned mail: Host unknown (Name server: 203.15.166.46:
host not found)
The original message was received at Wed, 28 Aug 1996 21:58:06
-0600
from cmeinel@localhost
----- The following addresses had delivery problems -----
postmaster@203.15.166.46 (unrecoverable error)
----- Transcript of session follows -----
501 postmaster@203.15.166.46... 550 Host unknown (Name server:
203.15.166.46:
host not found)
----- Original message follows -----
Return-Path: cmeinel
Received: (from cmeinel@localhost) by kitsune.swcp.com (8.6.9/8.6.9)
id
OK, it looks like the nntp server info was forged, too.
Next we check the second from the top item on the header.
Because it starts with the word news, I figure it
must be a computer that hosts news groups, too. So I check out
its nntp port:
telnet news.ironhorse.com nntp
And the result is:
Trying 204.145.167.4 ...
Connected to boxcar.ironhorse.com.
Escape character is '^]'.
502 You have no permission to talk. Goodbye.
Connection closed by foreign host
OK, we now know that this part of the header references a
real news server. Oh, yes, we have also just learned the name/address
of the computer ironhorse.com uses to handle the news groups:
boxcar.
I try the next item in the path:
telnet news.uoregon.edu nntp
And get:
Trying 128.223.220.25 ...
Connected to pith.uoregon.edu.
Escape character is '^]'.
502 You have no permission to talk. Goodbye.
Connection closed by foreign host.
OK, this one is a valid news server, too. Now lets jump
to the last item in the header: in2.uu.net:
telnet in2.uu.net nntp
We get the answer:
in2.uu.net: unknown host
There is something fishy here. This host computer in the header
doesnt exist. It probably is forged. Lets check the
domain name next:
whois uu.net
The result is:
UUNET Technologies, Inc. (UU-DOM)
3060 Williams Drive Ste 601
Fairfax, VA 22031
USA
Domain Name: UU.NET
Administrative Contact, Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
UUNET, AlterNet [Technical Support] (OA12) help@UUNET.UU.NET
+1 (800) 900-0241
Billing Contact:
Payable, Accounts (PA10-ORG) ap@UU.NET
(703) 206-5600
Fax: (703) 641-7702
Record last updated on 23-Jul-96.
Record created on 20-May-87.
Domain servers in listed order:
NS.UU.NET 137.39.1.3
UUCP-GW-1.PA.DEC.COM 16.1.0.18 204.123.2.18
UUCP-GW-2.PA.DEC.COM 16.1.0.19
NS.EU.NET 192.16.202.11
The InterNIC Registration Services Host contains ONLY Internet
Information
(Networks, ASN's, Domains, and POC's).
Please use the whois server at nic.ddn.mil for MILNET Information.
So uu.net is a real domain. But since the host computer in2.uu.net
listed in the header doesnt show up, this part of the header
may be forged. (However, there may be other explanations for
this, too.)
Working back up the header, then, we next try:
telnet news.mindspring.com nntp
I get:
Trying 204.180.128.185 ...
Connected to news.mindspring.com.
Escape character is '^]'.
502 You are not in my access file. Goodbye.
Connection closed by foreign host.
Interesting. I dont get a specific host name for the
nntp port. What does this mean? Well, theres a way to try.
Lets telnet to the port that gives the login sequence.
Thats port 23, but telnet automatically goes to 23 unless
we tell it otherwise:
telnet news.mindspring.com
Now this is phun!
Trying 204.180.128.166 ...
telnet: connect to address 204.180.128.166: Connection refused
Trying 204.180.128.167 ...
telnet: connect to address 204.180.128.167: Connection refused
Trying 204.180.128.168 ...
telnet: connect to address 204.180.128.168: Connection refused
Trying 204.180.128.182 ...
telnet: connect to address 204.180.128.182: Connection refused
Trying 204.180.128.185 ...
telnet: connect: Connection refused
Notice how many host computers are tried out by telnet on
this command! They must all specialize in being news servers,
since none of them handles logins.
This looks like a good candidate for the origin of the spam.
There are 5 news server hosts. Lets do a whois command
on the domain name next:
whois mindspring.com
We get:
MindSpring Enterprises, Inc. (MINDSPRING-DOM)
1430 West Peachtree Street NE
Suite 400
Atlanta, GA 30309
USA
Domain Name: MINDSPRING.COM
Administrative Contact:
Nixon, J. Fred (JFN) jnixon@MINDSPRING.COM
404-815-0770
Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
Ahola, Esa (EA55) hostmaster@MINDSPRING.COM
(404)815-0770
Billing Contact:
Peavler, K. Anne (KAP4) peavler@MINDSPRING.COM
404-815-0770 (FAX) 404-815-8805
Record last updated on 27-Mar-96.
Record created on 21-Apr-94.
Domain servers in listed order:
CARNAC.MINDSPRING.COM 204.180.128.95
HENRI.MINDSPRING.COM 204.180.128.3
*********************
Newbie Note #3: The whois command can tell you who owns a domain
name. The domain name is the last two parts separated by a period
that comes after the @ in an email address, or the
last two parts separated by a period in a computers name.
*********************
Id say that Mindspring is the ISP from which this post
was most likely forged. The reason is that this part of the header
looks genuine, and offers lots of computers on which to forge
a post. A letter to the technical contact at hostmaster@mindspring.com
with a copy of this post may get a result.
But personally, I would simply go to their Web site and email
them a protest from there. Hmmm, maybe a 5 MB gif of mating hippos?
But systems administrator Terry McIntyre cautioned me:
One needn't toss megabyte files back ( unless, of course,
one is helpfully mailing a copy of the offending piece back,
just so that the poster knows what the trouble was. )
The Law of Large Numbers of Offendees works to your
advantage. Spammer sends one post to reach out and touch
thousands of potential customers.
Thousands of Spammees send back oh-so-polite notes about
the improper behavior of the Spammer. Most Spammers get the point
fairly quickly.
One note - one _wrong_ thing to do is to post to the
newsgroup or list about the inappropriateness of any previous
post. Always, always, use private email to make such complaints.
Otherwise, the newbie inadvertently amplifies the noise level
for the readers of the newsgroup or email list.
OK, I'm signing off for this column. I look forward to your
contributions to this list. Happy hacking -- and dont get
busted!
__________________________________________________________________
Want to share some kewl stuph? Tell me Im terrific?
Flame me? For the first two, Im at .
Please direct flames to dev/null@techbroker.com. Happy hacking!
_______________________________________________________
© 1996 Carolyn P. Meinel. You may forward the GUIDE TO
(mostly) HARMLESS HACKING as long as you leave this notice at
the end. To subscribe, email with message
"subscribe hacker <joe.blow@boring.ISP.net>"
substituting your real email address for Joe Blow's.